

ESSEX SOCIETY FOR FAMILY HISTORY Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Conducted both online and at Galleywood Heritage Centre On Saturday 21 October 2023 at 1.30pm

Present: Lord Petre (President), Ann Church and Yvonne Tunstill (Vice-Presidents), Andrea Hewitt (Chairman), John Young (Vice-Chairman), Tanya Sewell (Treasurer), Meryl Rawlings (Secretary), Jean-Marc Bazzoni (interim Secretary); Executive Committee members and members online (43) and at Galleywood Heritage Centre (24).

- 1. Welcome: The Chairman welcomed all those present.
- 2. **Apologies for Absence** were received from Sheila Moore, Janice Sharpe, David Cooper and Angela Tuff.
- 3. Minutes of the AGM held on 15 October 2022: these were approved by both vote in the hall and online and signed by the President as a correct record.
- 4. Matters arising from those Minutes: None.
- 5. **President and Vice-Presidents:** The Chairman announced that it had been agreed by the Executive Committee as follows: President Lord Petre; Vice-Presidents Ann Church, Ann Turner and Yvonne Tunstill. The appointments were ratified by the members.
- 6. Chairman's Annual Report on behalf of the Trustees: Andrea gave her report, a full copy of which is attached to these Minutes and will also appear in the Essex Family Historian and on the Society's website.
 - A short discussion took place with regard to the proposed changing of the ESFH Constitution as proper procedure had not been adhered to i.e. all members had not been properly notified of the proposed change. Consequently, the Chairman agreed that an online Extraordinary General Meeting will need to be arranged, the likelihood this being held in January 2024. All members to be informed.
- 7. Financial Report by the Treasurer: Tanya said that the Annual Accounts to 31 March 2023 had been approved by the Executive Committee and signed by the Chair and our Examiner and these were available on the Society's website. A copy of the report is attached to these Minutes.

No questions were raised.

Tanya then formally proposed adoption of the accounts for the year ended 31 March 2023 and this was approved. This was seconded by Andrea Hewitt and agreed by a vote in the hall and online.

Tanya then proposed that Peter Kittle of Chelmer Company Services Limited, who has acted as our Examiner for a number of years, continue as our Examiner, this was seconded by Andrea Hewitt and agreed by a vote in the hall and online.

The Chairman then handed over to Lord Petre to continue the meeting.

- 8. Election of Officers/Holding Trustees: Andrea Hewitt (Chairman), Toni Neobard (Vice-Chairman), Tanya Sewell (Treasurer) and Jean-Marc Bazzoni (Secretary) have been nominated. These were the only nominations and therefore duly ratified.
- 9. **Election of Executive Committee:** The following have been nominated and were elected en bloc Pauline Adlem, Colleen Devenish, Meryl Rawlings, Janice Sharpe, Denise Somers, Paul Stirland and John Young.

The following would serve as ex-officio members of the Executive Committee - Gill Peregrine, Elizabeth Cox and Heather Feather.

As no other business was raised, Lord Petre declared the meeting closed at 2.22pm.